One Desire

As a child, did you ever wish upon a star? What did you wish for then? What would you wish for now? Some of you might want a spouse; some a bigger house; some a sense of happiness, and some would just hope to make the next car payment.

King David had his own way of “wishing upon a star.” He wrote psalms to the Lord expressing his hopes and dreams. In this psalm he told God exactly what he would want if he could have but one desire fulfilled:

“One thing I have desired of the LORD, That will I seek: That I may dwell in the house of the LORD All the days of my life, To behold the beauty of the LORD And to inquire in His temple” (Psalm 27:4, NKJV).

What an incredible testimony this is to the love David had for His God! How many of us would ever have thought of that?

Yet that is exactly what God is hoping we’ll desire! Over and over again He exhorts us to dwell in Him; to abide in Him; to come to the “secret place.” Where is this secret place? It’s in your heart. It is the place where you will truly experience His beauty and receive His counsel in all things.

Seek the Lord and ask Him to help you dwell there, as David did. As you do, may you enjoy a bountiful rest.

Our Evening Prayer – Let’s Pray Together…God loves you and wants to answer your prayer. Say this prayer with me:Heavenly Father, even as I sleep I long to dwell in the house of the Lord. Help me to seek after You until I truly enter and become rooted in that resting place where You abide in my heart. I know You are my hiding place; my secret refuge; my shelter from all trouble. Let my desire to dwell where You are be the one wish that motivates me day and night. May nothing hinder my seeking You. In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

Leave a comment